Codex initial coin offering (ICO)

Unlock the Value of Unique Assets



Codex is the leading decentralized asset registry for the $2 trillion arts & collectibles (“A&C”) ecosystem, which includes art, fine wine, collectible cars, antiques, decorative arts, coins, watches, jewelry, and more. Powered by the CodexCoin native token, the Codex Protocol is open source, allowing third-party players in the A&C ecosystem to build applications and utilize the registry. These applications, built with Codex’s partners, will make buying, selling, insurance, asset-backed loans and shipping and logistics easier for everyone. Codex’s first application, Biddable, is a title-escrow system built on the Codex Protocol, which solves long-standing challenges in auctions: non-performing bidders, lack of privacy, and bidder access. It is already live with the Codex Consortium, a group of major stakeholders in the A&C space who facilitate over $6 Billion in sales to millions of bidders across tens of thousands of auctions from 5,000 auction houses in over 50 countries.

4
26 26 expert ratings
4
4.2
4
3.9
View rating distribution
Starts in 1 year ago
2018-07-24 - 2018-08-12
Token
CODX
Type
ERC20
Bonus
Available
Price in ICO
1 CODX = 0.055 USD
Platform
Accepting
Hard cap
15,000,000 USD
Raised
12000000
preICO start
Jun 1, 2018
preICO end
Jul 24, 2018
ICO start
Jul 24, 2018
ICO end
Aug 12, 2018
More on ICO
Report

About Codex ICO

Codex is a decentralized registry for unique assets like art, fine wines, watches and more. Use cryptocurrency to buy $6 billion of art and collectibles today, and plug in to a growing ecosystem of third party services.

Codex reviews

Suzat Fernandes
CFO & Co-Founder
Rated on Jul 28, 2018
4
5
4
4%

Although the team size is small, the members are quite experienced.

The concept is unique and since most investors and buyers in the Art and Collectible markets seek to remain anonymous, this will provide them a great platform. It's great to see that the platform expands beyond arts and collectibles to include jewelry, antiques, vintage goods and fine wine.

The concept is a best-case use of blockchain technology. The platform's whitepaper is well-written.

Petter Sehlin
Blockchain and Fintech investment advisor
Rated on Jul 4, 2018
5
5
5
3%

Codex Protocol is one of the few actors on the A&C market that does not only have a working MVP but that also sports a senior team with years of experience and a huge network in the business.

The team is very active and regularly provide high-quality content on all media channels. Third party media coverage is good; when searching it’s easy to find hundreds of articles from magazines and newspapers featuring Codex. Technology (my strongest point as a reviewer) checks out above OK; the business model seems scalable.

I’d say this is an ICO as well thought through and presented as they get, I’d even go so far as to call it one of the most interesting ICOs of 2018.

Rick Nassar
Blockchain Startups Analyst and Global Facilitator
Rated on Jul 2, 2018
5
4
5
2%

At first I felt what they were solving was not a strong enough of a problem but when I met the team in Berlin they managed to change my opinion about the requirement of such a service.

What lead to my high level of rating is the three key elements that they have. Good MVP, great team and most importantly a decent validation.

Worth taking a serious look at this ICO for sure.

Paresh Masani
Executive Director | Project Lead | Developer | Influencer | Advisor | Blockchain and Security Expert | Investor
Rated on Jul 5, 2018
4
3
3
4%

Unique concept but my only concern is why would Buyer interested in putting Art information on the Blockchain? Most of buyers are rich and non-technical - they wouldn't like to even hear about Blockchain stuffs! MVP is good and if they already have a product live for $6B - why raising funds? I do not see the strong point why Codex value will give ROI!

Would be happy to update ratings when my concerns answered.

Mohit Tater
Blockchain & ICO Advisor, Investor, Serial Entrepreneur
Rated on Jul 3, 2018
5
5
5
4%

I really like what Codes is trying to do. This is a very lucrative market and if they can execute well, it will be a game changer.

It helps that they already have a MVP and a solid team. All the best!

Giovanni Lesna Maranetto
Chief Commercial Officer at Hedge Blocktrade.com , Advisor Blockchain Strategist , Speaker
Rated on Jul 3, 2018
5
5
5
3%

This is an all star team and advisory. Backing by key VC's . The idea and concept is well put together and has huge potential in the market. Looking forward to seeing this in action, real use case and already has a market place

Timothy Mayeur
Ecom Activator | ICO Advisor
Rated on Jul 3, 2018
5
5
5
3%

Starting valuation seems a bit high. I do think this is an effective use of blockchain. Interesting mix of team with some having great experience with the likes of Christie's & Sotheby's, which is directly relevant and then enhanced by all-star team coming from other big names & backgrounds. Roadmap / Milestones needs more meat to it. Otherwise.. I'm looking forward to seeing what the team builds here & their gain of adoption.

Jun Hao
ICO Advisor for Asia Market | Founder of BlockConnectors.io | Over 17,000 Followers on Telegram
Rated on Jul 4, 2018
4
3
4
4%

Codex Protocol is open source, allowing third-party players in the A&C ecosystem to build applications and utilize the registry. Interesting and also scalable which is why I reviewed this project. However, team might be abit small but overall, big market, big project, big vision.

Reinhard Berger
CEO Pecunio Blockchain Technologies
Rated on Jul 4, 2018
5
4
4
3%

The best about the project is the experienced team, and that they have already an MVP. It will be interesting to see how they can deliver on their roadmap.

wish you the best of success.

Dennis Oosting
ICO advisor and Founder of Serendipity Blockchain Solutions
Rated on Jul 4, 2018
5
4
4
3%

The Codex protocol is a decentralized, blockchain-based registry for the Arts & Collectibles (A&C) market. Codex aims to provide a standardized infrastructure for high-valued, unique assets that includes art collectibles, jewelry, antiques, vintage goods and fine wine.

Codex has a pretty strong (and young) team, with a background in investing, computer engineering, VC's and the advisory board brings a lot of expertise in the A&C field. I do believe that there might was an initial lack in expertise in the world of blockchain / cryptocurrency. However, depending on the influence of both Joey Krug and and Abe Othman they also tackle this field.

Roadmap is lacking and only contains a bit of information titled "post-launch". This makes it hard for people to know what the team will be up to and is planning in the upcoming months. Only 40% of the total tokens is available for the token sole, however 20% will also be available for a so-called "community pool" - this will facilitate development and participation in the Codex protocol.

The team is active development wise, and especially John Forrest is actively developing the codebase and Codex protocol according to their Github. An additional plus is that the team's first dApp (Biddable) is live with 2 players in the A&C market.

The team might face a problem in a lack of gaining traction as the A&C industry is not very well known and of particular interest to younger investors. Concluding, I am giving Codex a last plus for their list of partners and institutional backers.

Will be happy to see this move forward and hope it will be a success!

Mihai Alexandru Bisnel
Experienced ICO analyst, editor at TokenCouncil.com, Token Sale Platform supplier, Advisor, Blockchain Enthusiast
Rated on Jul 5, 2018
5
3
3
3%

The team looks experienced, however I couldn't determine the real problem this project is addressing, how it solves it and why it needs to be decentralized.
I would be happy to change my rating if someone in the team will explain these things to me. Until then, this is my position.

Douglas Lyons
Board Advisor- Early Adoption and Strategic Partnerships
Rated on Jul 7, 2018
1
1
1
5%

this is a really bad idea and an uneccessary use of blockchain technology. as stated this is quite simply an "asset registry"... so what do you need 25mil usd for?
another "discounts and rewards" model. This is good because i just happen to have a couple of picaso's and monets laying around and i might as well get points for it at the auction, c'mon really.
This is a really bad idea and will be an even worse investment.

John Papadopoulos
Crypto-currency enthusiast, Miner, ICO analyst, Angel investor, ICO investor,Strategist
Rated on Jul 6, 2018
4
4
3
3%

I find this project very interesting. It is live and there is a good background already. The problem though with all blockchain counter forfeiting projects is that all the parties involved, need to be compliant with the rules or else there will be a gap in the history of the item.

That means in this case all auction houses and buyers need to document each purchase and register in the blockchain. My personal belief is that many parties will find this process confusing and unnecessary.

If there are any objections, feel free to reply

Oliver Isaacs
Blockchain Investor, Advisor, Influencer & Speaker
Rated on Jul 7, 2018
5
5
5
3%

Strong team and strong concept. Love the idea of tokenising art and collectibles. There is competition in the space but their Whitepaper looks strong with a strong long-term plan. I like their Biddable system - their title-escrow system and like their Codex Consortium with high volumes - $6 billion.

Karnika Yashwant
ICO Marketing Expert | Launch Strategist | Global Branding and Fundraising Master
Rated on Jul 7, 2018
5
4
4
5%

Good team, KYC passed, good industry and I like the concept. There are some challenges in this space and I am curious to see how the team practically overcomes them (not just in whitepaper :))

Igor Karavaev
ico advisor and investor
Rated on Jul 7, 2018
4
4
4
5%

The team (with advisors) is really good, but seems lacks blockchain/ICO fundraising experience. The public beta exists. The tokenomics is ok but business/financial planning is missing in the WP

Nozomu Nakazato
ICO consultant
Rated on Jul 9, 2018
3
4
3
4%

An ambitious project assuming ERC 721.
It seems to use ERC 20 for tokens, but the project also refers to ERC 721.
I feel consistency in using a platform that demonstrates its effect on handling non-fungible ones.
ERC 721 makes it possible to link objects with authors and owners, but unlike the Crypto Kitties deployed in the data world, this project deals with the real thing. For example, what happens if a piece of art is traded without going through this platform? What happens if it is a malicious deal?
And this is a question that remains even if ERC 20 is used. I am worried about this point that the team does not have a block chain expert.

Gaurav Areng Chakraverti
Entrepreneur, Marketing Advisor, ICO Advisor, currently CMO and Co-Founder
Rated on Jul 18, 2018
4
5
3
4%

Do away with the bounty! It makes no sense for a company like this.

The vision - Provenance on the Blockchain - I like it! I feel that's a beautiful use of new technology, merging perfectly with vintage. (of a product, that is).

The product - I feel it's very, very niche. In terms of market value the industry is there for the taking, but it's such a paranoid industry, for lack of a better word, getting that to change is going to be such an uphill climb in my opinion. Also, I do't quite understand the numbers and the token metrics. Here you say you're selling 400,000 tokens at $.067 a token, and state a hard cap of 25m? That can't be right.

Anyway, good luck! I feel this is a great example of bringing archaic practices into a trustless, modern age.

Phil Millo
Blockchain Expert | Family Office Owner | Entrepreneur | ICO Advisor | Global Speaker
Rated on Jul 18, 2018
4
4
4
4%

VISION: The idea of a decentralised immutable registry for assets is a classic use case of the blockchain and unlike, say, identity, is unlikely to be implemented by governments. This means that, not only is it a strong idea, but also it stands a chance of successfully competing as a commercial venture. 4/5

TEAM: Strong team, and some good advisors. However, could possibly do with more blockchain expertise. 4/5.

PRODUCT: MVP is available and the whitepaper is good enough. 4/5

This is not an invitation to invest in anything. ICOs are risky and you can lose everything you put in.

Clemen Chiang
Ph.D. | CEO | Investor | FinTech in Stocks | Blockchain in Cryptos
Rated on Jul 19, 2018
4
4
4
3%

"Codex’s first application, Biddable, is a title-escrow system built on the Codex Protocol, which solves long-standing challenges in auctions: non-performing bidders, lack of privacy, and bidder access."

Are you similar to Escrow.com?

Ian Kaplan
Attorney/ CryptoCurrency Consultant
Rated on Jul 25, 2018
4
4
4
2%

The team is good, and the concept is also good. They have some unique features that will help them compete with others in the space like LA. I also found the whitepaper well-written and easy to understand

Paul Cliffe
ICO advisor|Crypto-asset and ICO investor| Libertarian|CEO of Block Venture Project
Rated on Jul 25, 2018
5
5
5
4%

Team - well experienced and educated at C-suite and core team, advisers seem to well connected also.

Vision - well explained and a good use case of blockchain to increase efficiency and remove doubt in an industry crying out for such development. I can really see this catching on in the art and collectibles sector as a 'go-to' registry for all involved. Given the backers the project already has, it is clear that the potential for this project is already greatly recognised.

Product - MVP looks good, user friendly and easy to understand.

Good luck to the team and well done on a potentially great project. The first I've given full marks to.

Jan Schets
ICO advisor | CIO | Blockchain Consultant | Early Crypto Investor
Rated on Jul 26, 2018
3
3
3
3%

Great team with relevant experience in their niche.

The concept of asset registry is a perfect use case of blockchain technology, making Codex one of the more interesting projects of 2018.

The fact that an MVP is already built just adds to the trust and confidence.

Further down the road there might be issues with getting market penetration in this hugely paranoid ecosystem.

Because of this it is my opinion that the current starting evaluation of ICO tokens is higher than t should be.

Alexander Mitrovich
Managing Partner, Usetech.com
Rated on Jul 28, 2018
5
5
5
3%

Had a pleasure of meeting Jess (COO) on a Blockchain conference in London, so had a nice chat. Project is actually excellent, because it solves a real pain in a simple way (for blockchain), plus it's execution is very real - it's a real business with real traction. As investments go, that is a very solid reason to believe in this project. Plus Jess has a great Dachshund :)

Brian Condenanza
Entrepreneur | Editor @ RevistaBitcoin | ICO Advisor
Rated on Aug 7, 2018
4
4
4
4%

Interesting concept and use of blockchain. I think that this project could make many jobs much easier to manage in terms of logistics and authenticity. Great team. Good luck!

PlumBot
ICO Analyzer Bot
Rated on Sep 2, 2018
0
0
0
11%


Experts are independently and voluntarily contributing to the community. If no expert has rated the ICO, only ICO analyzer's results are used. Always research before investing as these ratings should not be taken as an investing guide of any kind.

Ratings and ICO analyzer results are being updated (re-calculated) every few hours.

Codex ICO price

Price in ICO

1 CODX = 0.055 USD

Codex (CODX) crypto

Codex coin

Codex token
CODX
Codex type
ERC20
Codex platform

Codex (CODX) value

Tokens for sale
400000

Codex market cap

Codex market capitalization
$ 12000000

Codex investment info

Accepting
Distributed in ICO
40%
Hard cap
15,000,000 USD

Codex whitepaper

Codex team

Apply as an advisor

Jess Houlgrave

COO

John Forrest

CTO

Adrienne Burke-Moran

Content & Community

Codex milestones

1
January 2018

WePower idea

2
July 2018

WePower idea

3
June 2018

WePower idea

4
May 2018

WePower idea

ICOs that might interest you

Canada’s First Government Regulated Cryptocurrency Exchange and Trading Platform registered with ...

Jul 18, 2018
Health
2.4

All healthcare 1 infrastructure with decentralized management and ownership.

Jul 1, 2018

Kineticex brough to you fully automated, secured and fast system that enables you to send and rec...

Aug 15, 2018

First alt-coin Insurance!This is a game changer for Crypto world as the biggest fear for anyone w...

Aug 17, 2019