Substratum initial coin offering (ICO)

Foundation of the Decentralized Web



An open-source network that allows anyone to allocate their spare computing resources to make the internet a free and fair place for the entire world.

3
2 2 expert ratings
2.7
3
3
2
View rating distribution
Starts in 2 years ago
2017-08-14 - 2017-09-14
Token
SUB
Type
ERC20
Bonus
Available
Price in ICO
3,000 SUB = 1 ETH
Platform
Accepting
Soft cap
1,000 ETH
Hard cap
150,000 ETH
ICO start
Aug 14, 2017
ICO end
Sep 14, 2017
More on ICO
Report

About Substratum ICO

Substratum is developing an open-source foundation for the decentralized web, providing free and unrestricted access to content for a new Web 3.0.
The Substratum Network is a worldwide collection of nodes that uses industry-leading cryptography to deliver secure content anywhere, all without the need for VPNs or Tor. Substratum will revolutionize the hosting industry with per-request billing via microtransactions, all handled by blockchain technology and artificial intelligence.
Technology


  • SubstratumNode
    Network Members that run our broadcast software will receive SUB coins by serving requests

  • CryptoPay
    Allows all sites that run on the Substratum Network to process cryptocurrency transactions using any publicly-traded coin

  • SubstratumHost
    Businesses or Entities that wish to host sites, databases, and applications on the network, using SUB coins to pay the Network Members

  • Artificial Intelligence
    Machine learning geolocates the right Substratum Network machine to serve up the content ensuring the fastest load time

  • 1-Click Software
    Simple click-setup interface allows anyone to easily get started on the Substratum Network

  • Cryptography
    Advanced cryptography algorithms rooted in Artificial Intelligence ensure all data on the Substratum Network remains secure

  • Developer Tools
    An API and SDK are provided for developing tools on the Substratum Platform, accelerating growth of decentralized web

  • Compression Algorithms
    Custom-developed advanced compression algorithms ensure low latency and fast load times of content

Substratum reviews

Simon Waddington
Software engineer and advisor
Rated on Dec 24, 2017
3
3
2
21%

This project has laudable goals - but I found the Whitepaper lacking in details of how this would work. They are talking about serving notn just content, but also application code and databases on their nodes. That doesn't mesh with any of the other descriptions of how this would work. I'd be more inclined to invest in a pure network decentralization system such as SKYCOIN or a pure application decentralization platform such as HOLOCHAIN or EOS and use those with a SKYCOIN or equivalent (or just on top of plain old Tor).

We don't have any visibility of what the product is, no code on Github yet so have to take their word on what the product is looking like. So 2 for product although arguably it could be a 1.

The team does not have a track record of launching blockchain apps or decentralized networks. To be fair very, very few do - so that why I gave them a 3.

And as for vision - well like I said, I'm behind the goal but I really can't see people actually paying to use it. I see a lot of people wanting to run nodes to earn coins, but who is going to pay?

There is a chicken an egg problem and I don't see any business partnerships or brilliant idea to bootstrap the content publishing when there are so many places you can host small amounts of stuff for free, or if you are a big guy you probably don't care about paying AWS or Google etc.

We could end up with a community of folks who host a node to make enough to pay to host their content for free. But those people probably wont be buying an SUB as best I can tell. So I'll give a 3 again for yay on the hopes and dreams, but nay on the economic viability.

Should you invest? I think there WILL be a bunch of interest in this when it launches and as I said people will be running nodes. The market cap is still relatively low so I can imagine another 5 to 10x before people start wondering if there is anyone but speculators buying the coin. Another way to invest would be run a node when it launches. I don't know what the payback would look like but like all coins that have some kind of mining you may find the very early adopters do well.

PlumBot
ICO Analyzer Bot
Rated on Oct 1, 2018
0
0
0
79%

Experts are independently and voluntarily contributing to the community. If no expert has rated the ICO, only ICO analyzer's results are used. Always research before investing as these ratings should not be taken as an investing guide of any kind.

Ratings and ICO analyzer results are being updated (re-calculated) every few hours.

Substratum ICO price

Price in ICO

3,000 SUB = 1 ETH

Substratum (SUB) crypto

Substratum coin

Substratum token
SUB
Substratum type
ERC20
Substratum platform

Substratum market cap

Substratum market capitalization
$ 13800000

Substratum investment info

Accepting
Min. investment
0.1 ETH
Soft cap
1,000 ETH
Hard cap
150,000 ETH

Substratum whitepaper

Substratum team

Apply as an advisor

Justin Tabb

Solutions Architect

Abram Cookson

Lead Software Developer

Jason Wollam

Senior Software Engineer

Substratum milestones

1
2017.2

WePower idea

2
2017.8

WePower idea

3
2017.9

WePower idea

4
2018

WePower idea

5
Q4 2017

WePower idea

ICOs that might interest you

Platform
3.8

Network of collective information security. Revolutionary peer to peer cyber protection network g...

May 25, 2018

Paytailor is a software that enables payments between the merchant and the customer with existing...

Nov 20, 2017

DAO.casino is an open ecosystem for gambling games that don't rely on a trusted third party.

Jun 29, 2017

Districts is a 3D platform using the concept of virtual reality and incorporating the exceptional...

Nov 1, 2017